Member Awards

ACUA Awards Applications

Deadline for submissions - July 31

  • Member Excellence in Service Award - This Award recognizes a member who has made outstanding contributions to the mission of ACUA through exceptional service.
  • Outstanding Professional Contributions Award - This Award recognizes a member who has made outstanding and noteworthy contributions to the profession of internal auditing in higher education.
  • Rising Star Award - This Award recognizes an “up-and-coming” member who has made significant individual contributions in the areas of internal audit, compliance, or risk management that furthers the mission of ACUA.

Click here to read about the 2018 Award Winners.

Past Winners

Member Excellence in Service Award
2018 Gail Klatt University of Minnesota
2017 Doug Horr Vanderbilt University
2016 Laura Buchhorn University of Texas - San Antonio
2015 Julia Hann Georgia College & State University
2014 Richard Dawson University of Texas-San Antonio
2013 Betsy Bowers Univ. of West Florida
2012 Kathryn Kapka The Univ. of Texas at Tyler
2011 Kimberly F. Turner Texas Tech University System
2010 Jim Sleezer Oklahoma State Univ./A&M Board of Regents
2009 Sandy Jansen Texas Tech University System
2008 Mary Barnett University of Richmond
2007 Phillip Hurd Georgia Tech
2006 Toni Messer University of Texas at Dallas
2005 Helen C. Vanderland  University of Mary Washington
2004 Don Holdegraver
Tom Salzman 
University of Nebraska
Illinois State University
2003 David P. Coury Florida State University
2002 Virginia Key 
Rick N. Whitfield 
Montana State University-Bozeman
Pace University
2001 Kate M. Head 
Charles A. Jefferis
University of South Florida
University of Vermont

Steven M. Jung

Camille R. Rigney

Stanford University

Brown University

1999 Kathy Burgmeier  The University of Montana
1998 Seth Kornetsky   Tufts University
1997 Rob Clark Georgia Tech
Outstanding Professional Contributions Award
2018 Mark Salamasick University of Texas System
2017 Kevin Robinson Auburn University
2016 Tom Dwyer Syracuse University
2015 Betty McPhilimy Northwestern University
2014 Richard Dawson University of Texas-San Antonio
2014 Kim Turner Texas Tech University
2013 Thomas N. Luccock Michigan State University
2013 Michael L Somich Duke University
2012 Charles G. Chaffin University of Texas System
2011 Mary Lee Brown University of Pennsylvania & Penn Medicine
2010 Gail Klatt University of Minnesota
2009 J. Michael Peppers University of Texas
2008 Patti Snopkowski Oregon University System
2006 Rob Clark Georgia Tech
2005 Charlie Chaffin   University of Texas System
2003 David Crawford University of Texas System



Rising Star Award
2018 Kara Kearney-Saylor University at Buffalo
2017 Marion Candrea Rutgers University
2016 Meaghan Smith Oregon Health & Science University